Skip to main content


Helga Glaesel-Hollenback
Helga Glaesel-Hollenback

Helga established Hauʻoli Mau Loa Foundation in 1990 as a way "to return the generosity of the islands" where she had "found great happiness." Hauʻoli Mau Loa is Hawaiian for “eternal happiness.” In choosing this name for the Foundation, Helga sought to express her hope for what the Foundation would be able to achieve for others.

Through the Foundation's work, Helga sought to build hope and a future for those less fortunate, particularly children, in and outside of Hawaiʻi. She also was deeply concerned about the depletion of the world's environment, and envisioned its preservation and protection as another focus for the Foundation.

Prior to her passing in 1997, Helga participated actively in the work of Hauʻoli Mau Loa Foundation. Following Hurricane Iniki in 1992, much of the Foundation's early work was concentrated on the island of Kauaʻi. In recognition of the Foundation's philanthropic contributions to the island, Kauaʻi community members bestowed upon Helga, on her 75th birthday, a great honor – a Hawaiian name. They selected Kalehuamakanoe, for the lehua maka noe (Lysimachia daphnoides), a plant known to grow in the misty mountain range of Kōkeʻe on Kauaʻi.

Our Logo

Hauʻoli Mau Loa

Hauʻoli Mau Loa Foundation's logo, the lehua maka noe blossom, has significant meaning because it creates a link to our founder, Helga Glaesel-Hollenback. On her 75th birthday, community members from the island of Kauaʻi gave Helga the Hawaiian name of Kalehuamakanoe in recognition of her concern for Kauaʻi's children. This particular species (Lysimachia daphnoides), known as lehua maka noe, is only found on Kauaʻi in the uplands of Kōkeʻe, a place very special in the heart of Helga.

Our Origin Story Through Oli

The Foundation is deeply grateful to Marques Hanalei Marzan who, at the Foundation's request, composed this chant in 2021 to recognize its history and for use in formal protocols. It speaks of a well-built loʻi (taro patch) planted with four type of kalo, each representing the four pillars of the Foundation, Helga Glaesel-Hollenback (Benefactor), Hans Bertram-Nothnagel and Wayne Pitluck (Founding Directors), and Janis Reischmann (first Executive Director).

Hauʻoli Mau Loa Chant